Face

We are one

My face and your face aren’t exactly the same.
Oh, sure, the big pieces, but some details remain.

My eyes are faded, old and wise;
Yours are young and full of surprise.

My eyebrows are unruly, wild and untamed;
Yours are like arches over cities unnamed.

My mouth turns downward, while yours is upturned;
My lips have many kisses, where yours have just learned.

My cheeks are heavy, and wrinkled with age,
But yours are as smooth as a hen’s first egg.

You have a strong chin, proud and fine;
The chin on my face is disappearing with time.

There’s also the difference in color, as you see,
But to that I would say..
Does it matter to you? It doesn’t to me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

