River

Where do you become serene?

I went into the water

To be swept out to the sea,

Tired of struggling 

Against the current,

I chose to let myself go free.

A feeling then ascended

That I did not know well…

Serenity, my old friend,

Wherever do you dwell?

In the rocks and trees and 

whispers on the breeze;

The sand between your naked toes

And dirt upon your knees.

I swam back to the rocky bed

By the river’s shore,

And once there I was aware

Of where I lay my head.

One day will come and be my time

To set out for far dreams,

Today it seems 

Is to believe 

And bask in the sublime. 

Leave a Reply

