Fisher

Where do your dreams come from?

I am the fisher of dreams

Cast my net into the ether

Fling my strands into the deep

And settle them over you

Like a shroud you’ll wake from

 

I wade into the Lethe waters

Feel the cool waves at my thighs

And dip my net into the rills

At the shadowy end of a stone

Capturing a memory with fins

 

Feet grip the submerged earth

I make my way back, inky shore

My nets are full of wispy things

Ethereal and light in my hands

I am content, my night’s catch

 

I shiver in the cold nothingness

But bend once more to task

My fillet knife slices the dreams

And cuts away the darkness

To leave only the light

 

Blindly I finish, eyes not needed

And settle into the grassy bank

Where I wait for dawn’s warmth

To limber my limbs, more ahead

Catching and cleaning, not done

 

Riotous color signals the day

Fingers warm, I thread the eye

Stitch the seams, smooth edges

Press each dream into a sheaf

Tucked away for tomorrow

 

I am the fisher of dreams

I have them safe in my creel

My nets untangled, I head home

To feed you the harvest, bounty

See you dwell ‘neath my blanket

Safe, under my fisher’s hand

Leave a Reply

