Hope

Sometimes, when we lose hope, it can be easier to decide to give up than to keep fighting.

Hope is a burden I cannot shoulder
Disappointment is so much more clear
Wanting something causes need
To make you hold something dear

It will be better to become stone
To never want anything
Wanting something gives it power
To desire the feeling it will bring

Desire, that old enemy of stone
It rears up and bites, grips you
In its fierce jaws where you writhe
And struggle, you do

I’m a maiden of rock, sure
A creature of silent remorse
I bear my crushed hope
And sink beneath its force

Hope’s lost warrior
Doesn’t live here
Find another believer
To dwell in fear

I am not she
Not the one
It isn’t me
I’m done.

Leave a Reply

